Skip to content

SpeakBase vs Cambly

SpeakBase vs Cambly: an AI speaking tutor or a native English speaker on video?

Quick answer

Cambly connects you with native English speaking tutors over live video, any hour, with no fixed schedule; on 25 September 2026 its own pricing page listed Pro lessons at $18.75 each billed monthly, falling to $12.12 billed annually, with each lesson 30 minutes. At the monthly rate that is about 114 NIS an hour of speaking with a real person. SpeakBase is an AI speaking tutor named Kate, 39 NIS a month for up to 20 minutes a day, which works out to about 15.60 NIS an hour at the full monthly allowance, with corrections explained in Hebrew as you talk. Choose Cambly for a real human conversation with a native speaker; choose SpeakBase for daily, low-cost speaking volume with no booking and no time zone to work around.

Cambly and SpeakBase both put spoken English in your mouth on demand, but one puts a person on the other end of the call and one puts an AI tutor there. Cambly's whole product is video chat with native English speaking tutors, bookable any hour with no lesson plan required, plus a more structured Pro tier with recommended lessons, recordings and feedback. SpeakBase is Kate, an AI tutor available at any hour with no tutor to find and no call to schedule, who corrects every sentence as you say it and explains the correction in Hebrew. The honest comparison is not which one is better in the abstract but what each hour of speaking actually costs and what kind of conversation you are buying. Every Cambly fact on this page was read on cambly.com on 25 September 2026.

Side-by-side comparison

Side-by-side comparison
FeatureSpeakBaseCambly
What it isAn AI speaking tutor you talk to in live voice, no human on the other endLive video chat with native English speaking tutors, booked or started on demand
Who teaches youKate, an AI tutor, identical every session and never unavailableA rotating pool of tutors the site describes as "100% native English speaking"; not stated as certified teachers
Published price39 NIS a month or 390 NIS a year, printed on the pagePro: $18.75/lesson billed monthly, $15.58 billed quarterly, $12.12 billed annually (30-minute lessons). Small Groups from $17/month and Private+ from $39/month, lesson count not stated
Price per hour of speakingAbout 15.60 NIS at the full 150-minute monthly allowanceAbout 114 NIS ($37.50) on the monthly Pro plan, falling to about 74 NIS ($24.24) billed annually
How you book a sessionNo booking; open the app and start talking, any hourNo fixed schedule for Private lessons; Pro follows a recommended lesson sequence
StructureNo fixed curriculum; the conversation follows what you need to sayPrivate and Small Groups are open conversation; Pro adds a structured lesson sequence with recordings and transcripts
Group optionNot offered; every session is one to one with KateSmall Groups puts you with 1 to 2 other learners and one tutor
For childrenNot a dedicated productA separate Cambly Kids product exists
Trying itThe first lesson is free: five minutes with Kate, no card, no formOn 25 September 2026 neither page read here showed a free trial or free minutes before checkout
CommitmentMonthly or annual, cancel any timeCancel anytime; annual and quarterly plans bill in advance and renew automatically

What an hour of speaking costs: Cambly Pro vs SpeakBase (NIS, September 2026)

Cambly: cambly.com/en/subscribe, Pro tier, 30-minute lessons, read 25 September 2026 ($18.75/lesson monthly, $12.12/lesson annual), converted at $1 = 3.04655 NIS (xe.com, 25 September 2026). SpeakBase: 39 NIS Premium divided by the 150-minute monthly allowance. Arithmetic, not a quote from either company.
Cambly Pro, billed monthly114.25 NIS
Cambly Pro, billed annually (30% off)73.85 NIS
SpeakBase Premium, full monthly allowance15.60 NIS
Cambly bills in US dollars; the NIS figures are a currency conversion of its own published per-lesson price at the mid-market rate on 25 September 2026, not a price Cambly quotes in shekels. The gap is not really about quality: Cambly's hour includes a real native-speaking person, which is a different product from an AI tutor at any price.

Where Cambly is genuinely stronger

An AI tutor cannot replace an actual human being on the other end of the call, and Cambly's whole product is exactly that: a native English speaker, live, who reacts the way a real person reacts, not the way a model predicts a person would. That matters for cultural nuance, humour, unscripted small talk and the specific confidence of knowing you just held a conversation with someone who was not required to be patient with you the way software is. Cambly also removes the biggest friction in tutor marketplaces such as italki or Preply: there is no profile browsing or scheduling for a Private lesson, you simply start talking, any hour. The Pro tier adds real structure on top of that, with a recommended lesson sequence, recordings you can review and feedback from the tutor, closer to a course than an open chat. If what you want is genuine human contact in English, on demand, Cambly delivers something an AI tutor cannot, and it prices that honestly on its own site rather than hiding it behind a quote.

The bottom line

Choose Cambly if you want a live conversation with an actual native English speaker, any hour, with no schedule to negotiate, and the roughly 74 to 114 NIS an hour that costs is worth it to you. Choose SpeakBase if what you need is daily speaking volume at a price that does not make you ration it: 39 NIS a month covers 20 minutes a day, every mistake corrected as you speak and explained in Hebrew, for about a seventh of Cambly's monthly rate per hour. Many learners use both: Cambly for the real human conversations that build confidence and cultural fluency, SpeakBase for the daily repetition in between that makes those conversations easier.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Cambly cost?

On 25 September 2026 cambly.com/en/subscribe listed three plans: Small Groups from $17 a month, Private+ from $39 a month, and Pro at $18.75 per 30-minute lesson billed monthly, $15.58 billed quarterly, or $12.12 billed annually. The site does not state how many lessons the Small Groups or Private+ entry prices include, so this page only converts the Pro plan into an hourly figure: about 114 NIS an hour billed monthly, or about 74 NIS an hour billed annually.

How much does SpeakBase cost?

39 NIS a month or 390 NIS a year in Israel, for up to 20 minutes a day and 150 minutes a month of live conversation with Kate. At the full allowance that is about 15.60 NIS per hour of speaking. The first lesson is free, takes five minutes, and needs no card and no form.

Does Cambly offer a free trial?

On 25 September 2026 neither the English landing page nor the subscribe page on cambly.com showed a free trial, free minutes or a money-back guarantee before checkout; the only options shown were the three paid plans. Cambly may have offered free trials at other times, but that is what its own pages showed on that date.

Are Cambly's tutors certified English teachers?

Cambly's own English landing page (read 25 September 2026) describes its tutors as "100% native English speaking". It does not state that they hold a teaching certification such as TEFL or CELTA, so this page does not claim that either. The pitch is native fluency and live conversation, not a certified-teacher guarantee.

Can I use both Cambly and SpeakBase?

That combination plays to each product's strength. Cambly gives you real, unscripted conversation with a native English speaker, which is something no AI can fully replace. SpeakBase gives you a low-cost way to talk every single day between those sessions, with every mistake corrected on the spot and explained in Hebrew, so you arrive at your next Cambly call having actually practised what you got wrong last time.

Kate, the SpeakBase AI speaking tutorTry a real conversation with Kate

First lesson free · works in your browser · corrections in your language